Slateford Bowling Club

28 Lanark Road - Edinburgh Tel: 0131 443 7663

         Sponsors :-           Belhaven

         William Purves

Established 1899 – Slateford Bowling Club, is situated below the canal aquaduct that crosses the Water of Leith on the west side of Edinburgh.

At a public meeting held in the Slateford School on 17th February 1899 Slateford Bowling Club was established within the village. Twenty seven of the attendees joined the club, paying an annual subscription of ten shillings (50p). Mr A Oliver Riddle was elected the first Honorary President, in recognition of his financial assistance to the club.  

The ground was gifted to Slateford Bowling Club by Mr J. A. Inglis of Redhall (“The Laird”).


The green was formally opened by the President on Saturday 1st July 1899. Representatives from Ardmillan, Balerno, Corstorphine, Currie, Juniper Green, and Tyncastle Bowling Clubs attended. The first friendly match was played on 21st July 1899 against Tyncastle Bowling Club.


1899 Slateford Bowling Club joined the Midlothian Bowling Association, Members decided to enlarge the green from four rinks to the present size six rinks.


1903 Membership of the Scottish Bowling Association completed.


1905  Slateford Bowling Club – Birthplace of the Water of Leith Bowling Association – was one of the four founding members , along with Balerno, Currie end Juniper Green Bowling Clubs.


1913 The original green was re-laid  at the considerable expense of  just over £70


1921 Slateford resigned from Midlothian Bowling Association and joined the Edinburgh and Leith Bowling Association.


1928 A further extension to the pavilion was planned to include the installation of electricity.


1947 A new extension to the clubhouse was opened at a cost of £700


1977 Slateford Bowling Club opens the Function Suite – The Inglis Suite.


1984 Slateford joined the West Edinburgh Bowling Association – the first club to do so with only one green, playing in two different leagues on two separate nights.


1986 Gordon Ramsay, Robert K Wood, Andrew Ramsay and Robert Marshall win the Scottish Fours Championship.


1986 Gordon Ramsay, Robert K Wood, Andrew Ramsay and Robert Marshall win the British Isles Fours Championship.


1987 Slateford erects new clubhouse and lounge – Dalmahoy Lounge.


1994 Robert Marshall – Internationalist represents Scotland. ( Still does).


1995 Slateford wins the Top Ten Competition.


1996 Slateford wins the Top Ten Competition and Inter-counties competition.


1997 Slateford successfully defends  the Inter-counties competition.


1999 Slateford Bowling Club Centenary Celebrations.


2000 Robert Marshall wins 2 bronze medals in the Johannesburg South Africa World Bowls Competition.


2002 Slateford wins the 1st XVI Water of Leith League for a record breaking six consecutive years..


2010 Robert Marshall  (16 times club champion) and Ian McLain finish as runners up in the final of         the  Hong Kong Classic Pairs.

2011 Robert Marshall makes it 17 times as club champion and wins the Tait Trophy for the 4th time


2012 Robert Marshall does it again - makes it 18 times as club champion, and wins the Tait Trophy         for the 5th time.


2012 Slateford wins the Top Ten Competition. Through to the Scottish Bowls Knockouts  Play at         home against Kingswood (Glasgow)  on 19th May 2013


2014 Slateford   WEBA - 1st XVI Champions


2015 Slateford wins the Top Ten Competition, in singles, pairs, triples, and rinks.